Mongol vs English Thanksgiving: A Photographic Comparison

Last year, I partook in the shower slaughter of a turkey in the Middle of Nowhere, Mongolia. This year, I partook in a fancy catered Thanksgiving dinner in a historical house. Let’s compare!

Last year:
DSC00788
This year:
IMG_0601
Last year:
beforeafter
This year:
IMG_0603
Last year:
DSC01336
This year:
IMG_0604
Last year:
DSC01338
This year:
IMG_0605
Last year:
DSC01277
This year:
IMG_0597
This Thanksgiving, I’m grateful for a lot of things: my job, London, the fabulous people I have met here. But mostly I’m grateful I got to spend ten months being equal parts elated, frustrated, horrified, and endlessly entertained by the complete ridiculousness that is Mongolia. I miss it, and as much fun as English Thanksgiving was, I would go back to Mongol Thanksgiving in a heartbeat. Too many people crammed into my broken living room, our freshly slaughtered turkey cooking in the oven, my friends bringing over all the chairs, plates, and silverware in their respective apartments (and still coming up short), my bathroom reeking of dead bird, and all of us sitting around my shitty table, trading stories no one else in any other country would ever find funny, knowing that more Mongol hilarity is right around the corner.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

One thought on “Mongol vs English Thanksgiving: A Photographic Comparison

  1. Ahahaha! But, seriously, the dessert in Hovd looks much more delicious and attractive than a too small piece of air in england! 😉 keep enjoying your life, you’re an amazing woman! Keep smiling too!!!
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

